Nobel prize awarded for development of multiscale models

We would like to congratulate the winners of the 2013 Nobel prize for Chemistry: Professors Martin Karplus, Michael Levitt and Arieh Warshel.

The prize has been awarded “for the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems”.  These distinguished Professors pioneered the methods that are used in our group today, such as molecular dynamics simulations of proteins and QM/MM methods for the mechanistic study of enzymes. As mentioned in the press release, these methods “have become crucial for most advances made in chemistry today”.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: